Chinese Fishing Nets/Vasco da Gamma Square
Chinese nets are set up on teak wood and bamboo poles. This traditional fishing nets are Erected here between 1350 and 1450 AD by traders from the Court of Kubla khan, These huge cantilevered fishing nets are chiefessays.net erected by the first visitors to Malabar Coast. A narrow promenade that runs along the Beach is the best place to watch the net being lowered into the sea and fish catching done is Vasco da Gamma square, here is an ideal place for visitors to rejoice the Kerala traditional seafoods and also tender coconut juice.
Santa Cruz Basilica
This old Basilica was built in 1505 by the first Portuguese viceroy, Francesco de Almeida, on his arrival in Kochi. During the important feast of the “Invention of the Holy Cross”, On 3rd May that year and on the same day foundation stone of this church was laid and upon its completion Christened as Santa Cruz Cathedral.
The Santa Cruz Basilica, the oldest churches in Cochin and also whole of India. This church is visited by tourists the whole year round and it is considered as one of heritage edifices of Kerala.
This Basilica and famous Church of St Francis escaped Dutch conquest of Cochin in 1663, in the run they desecrated all Catholic establishments except this particular cathedral and the famous church of St. Francis. Basilica was shattered in 1795 by the British who took over the city, at that time Santa Cruz Cathedral was used as armoury of Dutch Soldiers. What remained just is a granite pillar of this monumental after the destruction of the Santa Cruz Cathedral and this pillar is kept in southeastern corner of the present Basilica.
St. Francis Church
St. Francis Church is India’s oldest European Church Built in 1503 by Portuguese Franciscan Friars. Actually Church structure was built with timber later it was reconstructed with Stone masonry. Presently Church is managed by Church of South India, history says British rulers converted this Church to Anglican Church in 1795 from Protestant Dutch whom find-bride-comments.net restored this Church in 1779. Tombstone of Vasco da Gamma is still visible in the Church premises who was buried here in 1524 before his remains were moved to Lisbon, Portugal.
The Dutch Cemetery
The grave yard Europeans is the reminiscence of Europeans who expanded their colonial empires with trade, conquest of this land and their religious identity. Our history has imprints of Europeans who left their homeland on a mission to expand their colonial empires and changed the course of history of this land. The Church of South India is managing this cemetery which was consecrated in 1724.
The residence of Vasco da Gama – the legendary Portuguese Explorer, Vasco House is a memorable destination for tourists on tour to Kerala. Portuguese Architecture and structural aesthetics of that period attracts tourists . This house is also believed to be the residence of Vasco Da Gama. Fort Cochin is also credited with this sixteenth century, the oldest Portuguese residences.
The first European who reached Kerala through sea route is Vasco da Gama. Vasco Da Gama led a group of Portuguese navigators and landed in Cochin in the 15th century and made settlements here in Cochin.
The historical Fort Cochin saw a change in outlook with several colonial buildings, commercial and trading centers, military base, Churches and residential buildings and Portuguese used Cochin as base for future expansions be it conquests, trade or religion.
Portuguese left a different heritage to this Land which richly who can write my research influenced the history of Keralas, the main factor which influenced is none other than the cultural impacts which is reflected in constructions done by the Dutch and trade, commercial, and military tactics also.
Vasco House construction is symbolized by typical European-style glass paned windows and balcony-cum-verandahs evocative of the era.
Mattancherry was the main Gate and trade link to Ernakulam. Trade flourished with spices, rice, pulses trade and transportations. Later all trading activities slowly shifted to Ernakulam city to get along with trade transport.
Tourists Attractions in Mattancherry includes Jewish Synagogue, Mattancherry Palace Museum, Gowd Saraswat Brahmin Samaj temples including the Venkatraman temple and a Jain’s Temple (known as MahajanWadi).
Mattancherry Palace Museum
The Mattancherry Palace is a Portuguese palace popularly known as the Dutch Palace, in Mattancherry, Kochi, in the Indian state of Kerala features Kerala murals depicting Hindu temple art, portraits and exhibits of the Rajas of Kochi.
Mattancherry Palace Museum houses array of weapons such as swords, spears and other artilleries such as cannon. The armoury shows the alert and readiness of Kingdom to evade possible attack from invaders. The museum also hosts various paintings and murals depicting Hindu God’s and Goddesses. Private Bus depot is located nearby and Close to the Bus Depot there is a Boat Jetty, boat is available to connect Ernakulam, and Willington Island. For shopping of different spices and article used for interior decorations the best place is Bazaar (Market).
The Paradesi Synagogue is the oldest located in Kochi, Kerala, in South India. Constructed in 1567, it is one of seven synagogues of the Malabar Yehudan or Yehudan Mappila people or Cochin Jewish community in the Kingdom of Cochin. Paradesi is a word used in several Indian languages, and the literal meaning of the term is “foreigners”, here the structure is built by Spanish-speaking Jews, It is also referred to as the Cochin Jewish Synagogue or the
The synagogue is uniquely decorated by Chinese tiles and Belgian chandeliers. The Giant scrolls of the Old Testament is protected and maintained here with all sanctity. The exquisite hand painted blue Chinese tiles offer an interesting sight. Every tile is made in such a way with differentiating styles. In mid-18th century, the clock tower was added. Several Kings of erstwhile states and influential patrons gifted finely wrought gold and silver crowns to the synagogue.
Kochi may be the only city or settlement still keeping Jewish descendants and remnants of their culture, structures and religious traditions intact. Jew street is the lanes of antiquity. Antiques shops lined here awakes our curiosity while we take a glimpse of crockery, carved wooden furniture, bronze and brass sculptures to remnants of traditional houses and Jewelry to Jewish Past and their glorious traditions
The sellers, the descendants consists of a small population of Traditional Jews who settled here in AD 52. The antiques they sell has gone through the Course of History be it be a part of a palace or a home of the nobility, of travels across many lands and ages. The Jewish Synagogue in Mattancherry is symbol of exceptional architecture and history which is fascinating hundreds of visitors daily.
Cherai Beach affectionately called Princes of the Arabian Sea is a 10 Km beach better known for its cleanliness and is located in Kochi Taluk, Kerala, India. Cherai Beach is just 25 km from Kochi, and 30 km from Cochin International Airport. The nearest towns are North Paravur (6 km) and Kodungallur (10 km) and the nearest railway station is Aluva (20 km). Tourists prefer this beach because it is not much busy and they can enjoy the Sun, wind, land and a clean sky to meditate the natures beauty.
Bolgatty Palace located amidst lush, tropical greenery of Bolgatty Island. It is one of the 4 islands of Cochin (Fort Cochin, Willingdon, Vypeen and Bolgatty) and Built by the Dutch in 1744, the Bolgatty Palace pay to write paper served as the British Residency until 1947. Bolgatty Island offers excellent harbour front views and large spread out area. Here the hustle and bustle of a city is less felt. There is a direct bridge over to Vypeen from Bolgatty and a boat connectivity to Fort Cochin, Ernakulam and Willingdon Island.
Visitors can have a short but boat trip from Kochi. One of the oldest existing Dutch palaces outside Holland, this quaint mansion was built way back in 1744 by a Dutch trader. In 1909 the palace was leased to the British and it served as their residency till 1947 when the British Raj came to an end in India.
Thripunithura Hill palace, the erstwhile official residence of the Kochi Royal Family, was built in 1865, largest archaeological museum in Kerala situated at a distance of about 12kms from Kochi on Ernakulam – Chottanikkara route. The palace complex consists of 49 buildings in the traditional architectural style of Kerala and is surrounded by 52 acres of terraced land with ponds, fountains and lawns. A full-fledged ethno archaeological museum and Kerala’s first ever Heritage museum are the main attractions here. The oldest building in the complex is a single stored Kerala style ‘ettukettu’ constructed around 1850 AD with an adjacent pond, temple and Urappura. The other buildings are a combination of traditional and western architecture.
The collections, which were displayed in this Museum, are mainly from the Cochin Royal House and from the Department of Archaeology. At present there are 18 galleries.
The Palium gallery (donated by the Paliyathachan’s family) was opened in 1991,Heritage Museum in 1995 and the Crown and Jewellery in 2001. A deer Park was started in the premises of Hill Palace in 1992.